Compared

Semrush vs Writesonic

Semrush is a all-in-one SEO suite; Writesonic is a GEO + content platform. This guide compares the two in depth, engine coverage, tracking mechanics, content production, SEO and local surfaces, data access and full pricing tiers, using only facts read from their live pages.

Facts verified August 2026Every claim rendered in a real browserSources on every table

01

The short answer

Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. Writesonic pairs AI visibility tracking with content execution: three platforms tracked daily on self-serve plans, an AI article writer publishing to WordPress, site audits with automatic fixes and an Action Center. They compete only where the categories overlap, and the chapters below walk every dimension a buyer would price: which AI engines each can see, how the tracking actually meters, what each produces on the content side, what surrounds the core product, and the full published tier lists.

Choose Semrush when

  • The largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits
  • Claude included in the published engine list
  • Technical site audit and research database
  • One vendor across SEO, ads, social and PR

Choose Writesonic when

  • Site audits at scale with automatic AI fixes
  • Action Center executes on-page and off-page fixes
  • Ads monitoring inside AI answers
  • SOC 2 Type II, GDPR and HIPAA options

02

What Semrush is

Semrush, now an Adobe company, is the biggest suite in search marketing, with homepage scale stats of 28 billion keywords, 43 trillion backlinks, 808 million domain profiles, 142 geo databases and 289M+ LLM prompts. Nine toolkits share one login across SEO, traffic analytics, content, local, social, advertising and PR, and the AI visibility module tracks how often your brand appears in answers from ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, with sentiment and custom prompt monitoring from the entry SEO plan.

Pricing model. SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project.

Semrush planPriceWhat the page says
Free$01 demo project, 10 reports/day, no AI visibility features
SEO$139/moAI search performance, sentiment, custom prompts
Starter$199/mo50 prompts daily; MCP access
Pro+$299/mo100 prompts daily; 15 sites, 1,500 keywords
Advanced$549/mo200 prompts daily; API data integration; SEO share of voice

Tier facts rendered from semrush.com/pricing, August 2026.

semrush.com/pricing
Semrush's pricing page showing four paid tiers with AI prompt tracking metered by tier
Semrush’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

03

What Writesonic is

Writesonic is a GEO and content platform used by 10,000+ marketing teams by its own count, carrying SOC 2 Type II, GDPR and HIPAA compliance badges. The loop it sells: track your brand across AI platforms daily, find the prompts recommending competitors, then fix visibility gaps with AI articles, technical site audits with automatic fixes, an Action Center executing on-page and off-page changes, and agentic workflows. Ads monitoring inside ChatGPT and Google AI answers and AI search volume estimation round out the research side.

Pricing model. Starter $79, Basic $199 and Growth $399 a month on annual billing (20% more monthly), all tracking ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews with 15 to 50 articles included; Enterprise is custom with all ten platforms and the full Action Center.

Writesonic planPriceWhat the page says
Starter$79/moannual; 50 prompts, 3 platforms, 15 articles, 10 audits
Basic$199/mo100 prompts, 300 answers daily, 25 articles, 20 audits
Growth$399/mo200 prompts, 600 answers daily, 50 articles, sentiment, Action Center trial
EnterpriseCustomall 10 platforms, full Action Center, Looker, SSO/SAML

Tier facts rendered from writesonic.com/pricing, August 2026.

writesonic.com/pricing
Writesonic's pricing page showing Starter, Basic and Growth plans with three tracked platforms
Writesonic’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

04

AI engine coverage

Semrush. The features page publishes the engine list: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, making Semrush one of the few big suites with Claude included. Grok, DeepSeek and Google AI Mode do not appear in that list.

Writesonic. The platforms row reads the same on all three self-serve tiers: ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, in one market (language plus country). Enterprise reads all 10 platforms without enumerating them on the pricing page; Claude and Perplexity appear on no self-serve row.

Summarized: Semrush reads 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews; Writesonic reads 3 self-serve (ChatGPT, Gemini, AIO); all 10 on Enterprise. On Claude specifically, Semrush: yes; Writesonic: not on self-serve plans.

05

Tracking and measurement mechanics

Semrush. AI prompt tracking meters by tier: 50 prompts daily on Starter, 100 on Pro+, 200 on Advanced, alongside classic position tracking with 500 to 5,000 keywords and 5 to 40 monitored websites. AI brand sentiment and AI visibility reports for any domain ship from the $139 SEO plan.

Writesonic. Tracking is daily on every tier, with 50 to 200 prompts and 50 to 600 answers tracked per day by tier, plus prompt diversification. Sentiment analysis starts on the $399 Growth tier, and ads monitoring inside ChatGPT and Google AI ships across plans, with AI search volume and Brand Explorer as limited one-time runs on self-serve.

06

Content production

Semrush. The content toolkit generates full-length, SEO-ready articles from a brief, with AI features woven through Domain Overview and Keyword Suggestions. CMS publishing targets are not enumerated on the pricing or features pages, so where the generated article lands is a question for their sales team.

Writesonic. The AI Article Writer includes 15, 25 and 50 articles a month by tier, with a $100-a-month add-on for 20 more on Growth, brand voice as 1 to 10 writing styles, content optimization, and a WordPress integration for publishing. Site audits run 10 to 50 a month covering 100 to 2,500 pages each, with automatic AI fixes, and agentic workflows meter as trial runs (10 to 100) on self-serve.

07

SEO and local coverage

Semrush. Classic SEO is the suite's backbone: position tracking, a technical site audit crawler, the 28B-keyword research database and the 43T-link backlink index. A local toolkit with listing management and map rank tracking exists; whether it draws a geo-grid or covers Apple Maps is not stated on the rendered pages.

Writesonic. There is no Google organic rank tracker and no local surface: no Maps, geo-grid or GBP tooling on the pricing page. Google Search Console and GA4 integrate for search data, and Reddit plus Google Keyword Planner feed the data sources.

08

Data access, APIs and integrations

Semrush. MCP access lists from the $199 Starter tier and API data integration only on the $549 Advanced tier. White-labeling arrives through the Pro Report add-on at $20 a month, and the suite's own research database is the underlying asset most buyers pay for.

Writesonic. Integrations cover GSC, WordPress and GA4 on self-serve with Looker Studio on Enterprise; an MCP is listed in the footer navigation and API docs exist. SSO/SAML and user access control are Enterprise features, alongside dedicated Slack and Teams support.

09

The full ledger

Every cell below was read from the vendors’ own rendered pages as of August 2026. Where a vendor’s public pages neither confirm nor deny a capability, the cell says so.

DimensionSemrushWritesonic
AI engines5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews3 self-serve (ChatGPT, Gemini, AIO); all 10 on Enterprise
Claude coverageYesNot on self-serve plans
Tracking cadenceDaily prompt allowances by tier (50 to 200)Daily
Google rank trackingYes (position tracking)None (GSC integration only)
Local / map trackingLocal toolkit; geo-grid not stated publiclyNone
Content outputSEO-ready article generation from a brief15 to 50 AI articles/mo + site audits
CMS publishingNot enumerated publiclyWordPress
API / MCPMCP from $199; API on the $549 tierMCP listed; API docs; Looker on Enterprise
Entry price$0 demo project; paid from $139/mo$79/mo (annual)

Sources: semrush.com/pricing and /features; writesonic.com/pricing. Rendered in a browser, August 2026.

10

Frequently asked

What is the core difference between Semrush and Writesonic?
Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. Writesonic pairs AI visibility tracking with content execution: three platforms tracked daily on self-serve plans, an AI article writer publishing to WordPress, site audits with automatic fixes and an Action Center. One is a all-in-one SEO suite, the other a GEO + content platform; the right pick depends on which job is open on your team, and the chapters above compare each dimension from their live pages.
How does Semrush's pricing compare to Writesonic's?
Semrush: SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project. Writesonic: Starter $79, Basic $199 and Growth $399 a month on annual billing (20% more monthly), all tracking ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews with 15 to 50 articles included; Enterprise is custom with all ten platforms and the full Action Center. Both summaries come from each vendor's rendered pricing page as of August 2026.
Which AI engines does each cover?
Semrush: 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews. Claude: Yes. Writesonic: 3 self-serve (ChatGPT, Gemini, AIO); all 10 on Enterprise. Claude: Not on self-serve plans.
Who should pick Semrush?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: the largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits; claude included in the published engine list; technical site audit and research database. Weigh those against its open questions: aI visibility is one metered module inside a big suite; grok and DeepSeek absent from the published list; white-labeling is a $20/mo add-on.
Who should pick Writesonic?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: site audits at scale with automatic AI fixes; action Center executes on-page and off-page fixes; ads monitoring inside AI answers. Weigh those against its open questions: claude and Perplexity absent from self-serve tracking; publishing targets WordPress only; sentiment analysis starts at $399.
How does Rank.ai compare to Semrush and Writesonic?
We keep those comparisons on their own pages, with the same verification standard: see rank.ai/vs/semrush-ai-visibility and rank.ai/vs/writesonic.

How each compares to Rank.ai

We keep our own product out of this comparison. If you want the same verified treatment with Rank.ai in the frame, the one-on-one guides for Semrush and Writesonic carry it.

Ready to improve
your rankings?

Use our free tools to get instant insights into your SEO performance and discover opportunities to rank higher