Compared
Semrush vs Moz
Semrush is a all-in-one SEO suite; Moz is a SEO suite. This guide compares the two in depth, engine coverage, tracking mechanics, content production, SEO and local surfaces, data access and full pricing tiers, using only facts read from their live pages.
In this guide
01
The short answer
Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. Moz, a Ziff Davis company, is the veteran SEO suite: Domain Authority, a 40-trillion-link index, keyword research, site crawls, and an AI module tracking two to three models weekly. They compete only where the categories overlap, and the chapters below walk every dimension a buyer would price: which AI engines each can see, how the tracking actually meters, what each produces on the content side, what surrounds the core product, and the full published tier lists.
Choose Semrush when
- The largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits
- Claude included in the published engine list
- Technical site audit and research database
- One vendor across SEO, ads, social and PR
Choose Moz when
- Domain Authority and Brand Authority metrics
- A 40T-link index and 1.25B-keyword research base
- Moz Local handles listings distribution
- Moz Academy and a deep learning ecosystem
02
What Semrush is
Semrush, now an Adobe company, is the biggest suite in search marketing, with homepage scale stats of 28 billion keywords, 43 trillion backlinks, 808 million domain profiles, 142 geo databases and 289M+ LLM prompts. Nine toolkits share one login across SEO, traffic analytics, content, local, social, advertising and PR, and the AI visibility module tracks how often your brand appears in answers from ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, with sentiment and custom prompt monitoring from the entry SEO plan.
Pricing model. SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project.
| Semrush plan | Price | What the page says |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 1 demo project, 10 reports/day, no AI visibility features |
| SEO | $139/mo | AI search performance, sentiment, custom prompts |
| Starter | $199/mo | 50 prompts daily; MCP access |
| Pro+ | $299/mo | 100 prompts daily; 15 sites, 1,500 keywords |
| Advanced | $549/mo | 200 prompts daily; API data integration; SEO share of voice |
Tier facts rendered from semrush.com/pricing, August 2026.

03
What Moz is
Moz was the first name in SEO software and remains one of the most trusted, now a Ziff Davis company, with Domain Authority and Brand Authority as industry-standard metrics, a link index past 40 trillion links, a 1.25B-keyword research base, and Moz Academy behind it. Moz Pro carries the suite: keyword research, competitive research, site crawls up to 1.25M pages a week, weekly rank tracking, and a new AI and GEO feature set with visibility dashboards, prompt tracking, citations data and content briefs. Moz Local and STAT sell separately for listings management and enterprise SERP tracking.
Pricing model. Standard $99, Medium $179 and Large $299 a month (20% off yearly: $79, $143, $239), with a $49 single-site starter plan; extra AI prompts cost $50 per 100, extra dashboards $20 each, and add-on seats $49 per user.
| Moz plan | Price | What the page says |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $49/mo | single website |
| Standard | $99/mo | 50 prompts, 2 models (GPT, Gemini), weekly; 2 briefs/mo |
| Medium | $179/mo | 100 prompts, 3 models (+ AI Mode); 10 briefs; free trial |
| Large | $299/mo | 200 prompts, 3 models; 50 briefs; branded reports |
Tier facts rendered from moz.com/products/pro/pricing, August 2026.

04
AI engine coverage
Semrush. The features page publishes the engine list: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, making Semrush one of the few big suites with Claude included. Grok, DeepSeek and Google AI Mode do not appear in that list.
Moz. The tracked AI models are GPT and Gemini on the $99 Standard plan, with Google AI Mode joining from the $179 Medium plan, three models at most. Claude, Perplexity, Grok and DeepSeek appear nowhere in the tracked-model lists on the Moz Pro pricing page.
Summarized: Semrush reads 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews; Moz reads 2 (GPT, Gemini) on $99; 3 (+ AI Mode) from $179. On Claude specifically, Semrush: yes; Moz: not listed.
05
Tracking and measurement mechanics
Semrush. AI prompt tracking meters by tier: 50 prompts daily on Starter, 100 on Pro+, 200 on Advanced, alongside classic position tracking with 500 to 5,000 keywords and 5 to 40 monitored websites. AI brand sentiment and AI visibility reports for any domain ship from the $139 SEO plan.
Moz. Both halves of tracking run weekly: AI prompt tracking frequency reads weekly on every tier, and the rank tracker checks each keyword weekly across Google US and international, Google Mobile, Yahoo and Bing, with 300 to 3,000 keywords by tier. AI citations data and prompt suggestions ship on every tier, and extra prompts are $50 per 100.
06
Content production
Semrush. The content toolkit generates full-length, SEO-ready articles from a brief, with AI features woven through Domain Overview and Keyword Suggestions. CMS publishing targets are not enumerated on the pricing or features pages, so where the generated article lands is a question for their sales team.
Moz. Content output is AI Content Briefs: 2 a month on Standard, 10 on Medium, 50 on Large. There is no article writer and no CMS publishing; briefs hand off to your writers.
07
SEO and local coverage
Semrush. Classic SEO is the suite's backbone: position tracking, a technical site audit crawler, the 28B-keyword research database and the 43T-link backlink index. A local toolkit with listing management and map rank tracking exists; whether it draws a geo-grid or covers Apple Maps is not stated on the rendered pages.
Moz. Moz Pro carries the classic research stack with Domain Authority at its center, plus site crawls to 1.25M pages a week and an On-Page Grader. Local is a separate product, Moz Local, which syncs listings to directories; its pricing did not render dollar figures when checked, and no geo-grid appears on the Moz Pro page.
08
Data access, APIs and integrations
Semrush. MCP access lists from the $199 Starter tier and API data integration only on the $549 Advanced tier. White-labeling arrives through the Pro Report add-on at $20 a month, and the suite's own research database is the underlying asset most buyers pay for.
Moz. The Moz API sells separately with its own flexible pricing, and no MCP server is listed. Branded reports and report templates arrive on the Large tier, and MozBar Premium ships with every plan.
09
The full ledger
Every cell below was read from the vendors’ own rendered pages as of August 2026. Where a vendor’s public pages neither confirm nor deny a capability, the cell says so.
| Dimension | Semrush | Moz |
|---|---|---|
| AI engines | 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews | 2 (GPT, Gemini) on $99; 3 (+ AI Mode) from $179 |
| Claude coverage | Yes | Not listed |
| Tracking cadence | Daily prompt allowances by tier (50 to 200) | Weekly for both AI prompts and rankings |
| Google rank tracking | Yes (position tracking) | Yes, weekly, across Google, Mobile, Yahoo, Bing |
| Local / map tracking | Local toolkit; geo-grid not stated publicly | Moz Local (separate listings product) |
| Content output | SEO-ready article generation from a brief | AI Content Briefs, 2 to 50/mo |
| CMS publishing | Not enumerated publicly | No |
| API / MCP | MCP from $199; API on the $549 tier | Moz API (separate product); no MCP listed |
| Entry price | $0 demo project; paid from $139/mo | $49/mo single-site plan |
Sources: semrush.com/pricing and /features; moz.com/products/pro/pricing and /products/local. Rendered in a browser, August 2026.
10
