Compared

Semrush vs MarketMuse

Semrush is a all-in-one SEO suite; MarketMuse is a content strategy platform. This guide compares the two in depth, engine coverage, tracking mechanics, content production, SEO and local surfaces, data access and full pricing tiers, using only facts read from their live pages.

Facts verified August 2026Every claim rendered in a real browserSources on every table

01

The short answer

Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. MarketMuse, part of Siteimprove, models Google's results pages: topic modeling with personalized difficulty, research-backed briefs, draft scoring against the top 20, and site-wide content inventory. They compete only where the categories overlap, and the chapters below walk every dimension a buyer would price: which AI engines each can see, how the tracking actually meters, what each produces on the content side, what surrounds the core product, and the full published tier lists.

Choose Semrush when

  • The largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits
  • Claude included in the published engine list
  • Technical site audit and research database
  • One vendor across SEO, ads, social and PR

Choose MarketMuse when

  • Site-wide content inventory with decay tracking
  • Topic models with difficulty personalized to your domain
  • 1:1 draft scoring with E-E-A-T signal measurement
  • All nine brief types on the Strategy tier

02

What Semrush is

Semrush, now an Adobe company, is the biggest suite in search marketing, with homepage scale stats of 28 billion keywords, 43 trillion backlinks, 808 million domain profiles, 142 geo databases and 289M+ LLM prompts. Nine toolkits share one login across SEO, traffic analytics, content, local, social, advertising and PR, and the AI visibility module tracks how often your brand appears in answers from ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, with sentiment and custom prompt monitoring from the entry SEO plan.

Pricing model. SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project.

Semrush planPriceWhat the page says
Free$01 demo project, 10 reports/day, no AI visibility features
SEO$139/moAI search performance, sentiment, custom prompts
Starter$199/mo50 prompts daily; MCP access
Pro+$299/mo100 prompts daily; 15 sites, 1,500 keywords
Advanced$549/mo200 prompts daily; API data integration; SEO share of voice

Tier facts rendered from semrush.com/pricing, August 2026.

semrush.com/pricing
Semrush's pricing page showing four paid tiers with AI prompt tracking metered by tier
Semrush’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

03

What MarketMuse is

MarketMuse, now by Siteimprove, is a content strategy platform with a decade of iteration on modeling Google's results pages: Topic Navigator, SERP x-ray, SERP and Site Heatmaps, topic models that produce difficulty scores personalized to your domain, and a Content Inventory that crawls your whole site and tracks decay. Its Optimize product scores a page one-to-one against the top 20 ranking pages with E-E-A-T signal measurement, and its brief generator produces research-backed briefs in nine types on the top tier.

Pricing model. Four tiers, Free, Optimize, Research and Strategy, metered by tracked topics (10 queries a month free, 100 to 10,000 topics paid) and content briefs (5 to 20 a month); no dollar figures are published and every tier's button, including Free's, books a demo.

MarketMuse planPriceWhat the page says
FreeNo price published1 user, 10 queries/month; demo call to start
OptimizeNo price published100 tracked topics, 5 briefs/mo, 1 strategy doc
ResearchNo price published1,000 topics, 10 briefs, unlimited queries
StrategyNo price published10K topics, 20 briefs, all 9 brief types

Tier facts rendered from marketmuse.com/pricing, August 2026.

marketmuse.com/pricing
MarketMuse's pricing page showing four tiers with no dollar figures and Book a demo buttons
MarketMuse’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

04

AI engine coverage

Semrush. The features page publishes the engine list: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, making Semrush one of the few big suites with Claude included. Grok, DeepSeek and Google AI Mode do not appear in that list.

MarketMuse. No AI answer engine appears anywhere on MarketMuse's public pages: no ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity or AI Overviews. The platform's entire measurement surface is Google's results pages.

Summarized: Semrush reads 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews; MarketMuse reads none; the surface is Google's SERPs. On Claude specifically, Semrush: yes; MarketMuse: no.

05

Tracking and measurement mechanics

Semrush. AI prompt tracking meters by tier: 50 prompts daily on Starter, 100 on Pro+, 200 on Advanced, alongside classic position tracking with 500 to 5,000 keywords and 5 to 40 monitored websites. AI brand sentiment and AI visibility reports for any domain ship from the $139 SEO plan.

MarketMuse. Measurement is SERP analysis at depth: SERP x-ray and heatmaps, topic models with personalized difficulty, and the Content Inventory crawling your site to flag decay. There is no position tracker in the rank-tracking sense and no answer recording.

06

Content production

Semrush. The content toolkit generates full-length, SEO-ready articles from a brief, with AI features woven through Domain Overview and Keyword Suggestions. CMS publishing targets are not enumerated on the pricing or features pages, so where the generated article lands is a question for their sales team.

MarketMuse. Briefs are the product: structure, subtopics, questions and linking suggestions, research-backed, metered per month by tier, with draft scoring against the top-20 pages. Output exports to Google Docs or MS Word for your writers; there is no CMS publishing, so the distance from brief to published page runs through your team.

07

SEO and local coverage

Semrush. Classic SEO is the suite's backbone: position tracking, a technical site audit crawler, the 28B-keyword research database and the 43T-link backlink index. A local toolkit with listing management and map rank tracking exists; whether it draws a geo-grid or covers Apple Maps is not stated on the rendered pages.

MarketMuse. There is no local product: no map tracking, no GBP tooling, no citations.

08

Data access, APIs and integrations

Semrush. MCP access lists from the $199 Starter tier and API data integration only on the $549 Advanced tier. White-labeling arrives through the Pro Report add-on at $20 a month, and the suite's own research database is the underlying asset most buyers pay for.

MarketMuse. No public API documentation exists (the /api page 404s and the developer subdomain refused connections when checked) and no MCP server is listed. Exports cover saved writing, applications and documents.

09

The full ledger

Every cell below was read from the vendors’ own rendered pages as of August 2026. Where a vendor’s public pages neither confirm nor deny a capability, the cell says so.

DimensionSemrushMarketMuse
AI engines5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI OverviewsNone; the surface is Google's SERPs
Claude coverageYesNo
Tracking cadenceDaily prompt allowances by tier (50 to 200)SERP analysis, not answer tracking
Google rank trackingYes (position tracking)SERP modeling, no position tracker
Local / map trackingLocal toolkit; geo-grid not stated publiclyNone
Content outputSEO-ready article generation from a briefBriefs and scored drafts, exported to Docs/Word
CMS publishingNot enumerated publiclyNo (exports to Google Docs / MS Word)
API / MCPMCP from $199; API on the $549 tierNo public API docs; no MCP
Entry price$0 demo project; paid from $139/moDemo call required, including for Free

Sources: semrush.com/pricing and /features; marketmuse.com/pricing and product pages. Rendered in a browser, August 2026.

10

Frequently asked

What is the core difference between Semrush and MarketMuse?
Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. MarketMuse, part of Siteimprove, models Google's results pages: topic modeling with personalized difficulty, research-backed briefs, draft scoring against the top 20, and site-wide content inventory. One is a all-in-one SEO suite, the other a content strategy platform; the right pick depends on which job is open on your team, and the chapters above compare each dimension from their live pages.
How does Semrush's pricing compare to MarketMuse's?
Semrush: SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project. MarketMuse: Four tiers, Free, Optimize, Research and Strategy, metered by tracked topics (10 queries a month free, 100 to 10,000 topics paid) and content briefs (5 to 20 a month); no dollar figures are published and every tier's button, including Free's, books a demo. Both summaries come from each vendor's rendered pricing page as of August 2026.
Which AI engines does each cover?
Semrush: 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews. Claude: Yes. MarketMuse: None; the surface is Google's SERPs. Claude: No.
Who should pick Semrush?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: the largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits; claude included in the published engine list; technical site audit and research database. Weigh those against its open questions: aI visibility is one metered module inside a big suite; grok and DeepSeek absent from the published list; white-labeling is a $20/mo add-on.
Who should pick MarketMuse?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: site-wide content inventory with decay tracking; topic models with difficulty personalized to your domain; 1:1 draft scoring with E-E-A-T signal measurement. Weigh those against its open questions: no AI engine appears anywhere on their surface; output ends in exported documents; no published prices; sales-led evaluation.
How does Rank.ai compare to Semrush and MarketMuse?
We keep those comparisons on their own pages, with the same verification standard: see rank.ai/vs/semrush-ai-visibility and rank.ai/vs/marketmuse.

How each compares to Rank.ai

We keep our own product out of this comparison. If you want the same verified treatment with Rank.ai in the frame, the one-on-one guides for Semrush and MarketMuse carry it.

Ready to improve
your rankings?

Use our free tools to get instant insights into your SEO performance and discover opportunities to rank higher