Compared

Profound vs Semrush

Profound is a enterprise AEO platform; Semrush is a all-in-one SEO suite. This guide compares the two in depth, engine coverage, tracking mechanics, content production, SEO and local surfaces, data access and full pricing tiers, using only facts read from their live pages.

Facts verified August 2026Every claim rendered in a real browserSources on every table

01

The short answer

Profound is an enterprise answer engine optimization platform: AI visibility tracking, Agent Analytics for AI bot traffic, and marketing Agents that generate and publish AEO content into CMSs. Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. They compete only where the categories overlap, and the chapters below walk every dimension a buyer would price: which AI engines each can see, how the tracking actually meters, what each produces on the content side, what surrounds the core product, and the full published tier lists.

Choose Profound when

  • Agent Analytics covers unlimited domains on every tier
  • Enterprise customer base: MongoDB, WHOOP, Ramp and others
  • CMS publishing across ten platforms
  • Free weekly industry leaderboard (Profound Index)

Choose Semrush when

  • The largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits
  • Claude included in the published engine list
  • Technical site audit and research database
  • One vendor across SEO, ads, social and PR

02

What Profound is

Profound is the enterprise name in answer engine optimization, with customer stories from MongoDB, WHOOP, Statsig, Ramp and Airbyte, and logos like US Bank and Mejuri on its pricing page. The platform tracks brand visibility in AI answers, attributes AI bot traffic across unlimited domains through CDN integrations (Cloudflare, Vercel, Akamai, Fastly), and runs marketing Agents that generate AEO content in a node-based workflow builder. Its free public surface is the Profound Index, a weekly leaderboard across 50+ industries built on 1.5B+ real user prompts.

Pricing model. Starter $99 a month tracks ChatGPT only with 50 prompts and no exports; Growth $399 tracks three engines with 100 prompts and CSV/JSON exports; Claude, Gemini, Grok, DeepSeek, Copilot, AI Mode, the API and SSO require a custom Enterprise package. Yearly billing gives two months free.

Profound planPriceWhat the page says
Starter$99/moChatGPT only; 50 prompts; 100 Agents credits; exports: none
Growth$399/mo3 engines (ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews); 100 prompts; CSV/JSON
EnterpriseCustomup to 9 engines incl. Claude, Gemini, Grok, DeepSeek; API; SSO

Tier facts rendered from tryprofound.com/pricing, August 2026.

tryprofound.com/pricing
Profound's pricing page showing Starter $99 with ChatGPT only and Growth $399 with three engines
Profound’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

03

What Semrush is

Semrush, now an Adobe company, is the biggest suite in search marketing, with homepage scale stats of 28 billion keywords, 43 trillion backlinks, 808 million domain profiles, 142 geo databases and 289M+ LLM prompts. Nine toolkits share one login across SEO, traffic analytics, content, local, social, advertising and PR, and the AI visibility module tracks how often your brand appears in answers from ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, with sentiment and custom prompt monitoring from the entry SEO plan.

Pricing model. SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project.

Semrush planPriceWhat the page says
Free$01 demo project, 10 reports/day, no AI visibility features
SEO$139/moAI search performance, sentiment, custom prompts
Starter$199/mo50 prompts daily; MCP access
Pro+$299/mo100 prompts daily; 15 sites, 1,500 keywords
Advanced$549/mo200 prompts daily; API data integration; SEO share of voice

Tier facts rendered from semrush.com/pricing, August 2026.

semrush.com/pricing
Semrush's pricing page showing four paid tiers with AI prompt tracking metered by tier
Semrush’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

04

AI engine coverage

Profound. Engine access is the tier ladder: the $99 Starter is ChatGPT tracking only, the $399 Growth adds Perplexity and Google AI Overviews for three total, and the Enterprise capability list reads ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Google Gemini, Microsoft Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Anthropic Claude and Google AI Overviews, up to nine. Claude, Gemini, Grok and DeepSeek coverage all require the Enterprise conversation.

Semrush. The features page publishes the engine list: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, making Semrush one of the few big suites with Claude included. Grok, DeepSeek and Google AI Mode do not appear in that list.

Summarized: Profound reads 1 on $99, 3 on $399, up to 9 on Enterprise; Semrush reads 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews. On Claude specifically, Profound: enterprise only; Semrush: yes.

05

Tracking and measurement mechanics

Profound. Tracking is prompt-based: 50 prompts on Starter, 100 on Growth with 9,000 responses monthly, custom above. Agent Analytics is the standout surface, attributing AI bot and agent traffic on your own domains through CDN integrations, on every tier with unlimited domains.

Semrush. AI prompt tracking meters by tier: 50 prompts daily on Starter, 100 on Pro+, 200 on Advanced, alongside classic position tracking with 500 to 5,000 keywords and 5 to 40 monitored websites. AI brand sentiment and AI visibility reports for any domain ship from the $139 SEO plan.

06

Content production

Profound. Content runs through Agents: workflow templates like blogpost generation, AEO-optimized FAQ generation and schema markup, metered in credits consumed each time an Agent runs, 100 a month on Starter and 400 on Growth. Output publishes through CMS integrations covering Webflow, WordPress, Contentful, Sanity, Adobe Experience Manager, Drupal, Framer, Payload, Basehub and Directus.

Semrush. The content toolkit generates full-length, SEO-ready articles from a brief, with AI features woven through Domain Overview and Keyword Suggestions. CMS publishing targets are not enumerated on the pricing or features pages, so where the generated article lands is a question for their sales team.

07

SEO and local coverage

Profound. There is no Google rank tracker and no local surface: no Maps or Local Pack tracking, no geo-grid, no GBP monitoring on any public page. Google Search Console integrates for traditional-search reporting beside the AI data.

Semrush. Classic SEO is the suite's backbone: position tracking, a technical site audit crawler, the 28B-keyword research database and the 43T-link backlink index. A local toolkit with listing management and map rank tracking exists; whether it draws a geo-grid or covers Apple Maps is not stated on the rendered pages.

08

Data access, APIs and integrations

Profound. The API is Enterprise-only per the pricing matrix, exports are locked out of Starter (CSV/JSON from Growth up), SSO is Enterprise, and a hosted MCP server is documented at docs.tryprofound.com. Looker and G2 integrations appear on the integrations page.

Semrush. MCP access lists from the $199 Starter tier and API data integration only on the $549 Advanced tier. White-labeling arrives through the Pro Report add-on at $20 a month, and the suite's own research database is the underlying asset most buyers pay for.

09

The full ledger

Every cell below was read from the vendors’ own rendered pages as of August 2026. Where a vendor’s public pages neither confirm nor deny a capability, the cell says so.

DimensionProfoundSemrush
AI engines1 on $99, 3 on $399, up to 9 on Enterprise5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews
Claude coverageEnterprise onlyYes
Tracking cadencePrompt tracking by plan allowanceDaily prompt allowances by tier (50 to 200)
Google rank trackingNo rank tracker (GSC integration only)Yes (position tracking)
Local / map trackingNoneLocal toolkit; geo-grid not stated publicly
Content outputAgents metered in credits (100 to 400/mo)SEO-ready article generation from a brief
CMS publishingYes: Webflow, WordPress, Contentful, Sanity, AEM +Not enumerated publicly
API / MCPAPI Enterprise-only; hosted MCP serverMCP from $199; API on the $549 tier
Entry price$99/mo (ChatGPT only)$0 demo project; paid from $139/mo

Sources: tryprofound.com/pricing, /integrations, /profound-index; semrush.com/pricing and /features. Rendered in a browser, August 2026.

10

Frequently asked

What is the core difference between Profound and Semrush?
Profound is an enterprise answer engine optimization platform: AI visibility tracking, Agent Analytics for AI bot traffic, and marketing Agents that generate and publish AEO content into CMSs. Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. One is a enterprise AEO platform, the other a all-in-one SEO suite; the right pick depends on which job is open on your team, and the chapters above compare each dimension from their live pages.
How does Profound's pricing compare to Semrush's?
Profound: Starter $99 a month tracks ChatGPT only with 50 prompts and no exports; Growth $399 tracks three engines with 100 prompts and CSV/JSON exports; Claude, Gemini, Grok, DeepSeek, Copilot, AI Mode, the API and SSO require a custom Enterprise package. Yearly billing gives two months free. Semrush: SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project. Both summaries come from each vendor's rendered pricing page as of August 2026.
Which AI engines does each cover?
Profound: 1 on $99, 3 on $399, up to 9 on Enterprise. Claude: Enterprise only. Semrush: 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews. Claude: Yes.
Who should pick Profound?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: agent Analytics covers unlimited domains on every tier; enterprise customer base: MongoDB, WHOOP, Ramp and others; cMS publishing across ten platforms. Weigh those against its open questions: claude and Gemini tracking wait behind an Enterprise contract; no Google rank tracker and no local surface; exports read None on the $99 plan.
Who should pick Semrush?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: the largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits; claude included in the published engine list; technical site audit and research database. Weigh those against its open questions: aI visibility is one metered module inside a big suite; grok and DeepSeek absent from the published list; white-labeling is a $20/mo add-on.
How does Rank.ai compare to Profound and Semrush?
We keep those comparisons on their own pages, with the same verification standard: see rank.ai/vs/profound and rank.ai/vs/semrush-ai-visibility.

How each compares to Rank.ai

We keep our own product out of this comparison. If you want the same verified treatment with Rank.ai in the frame, the one-on-one guides for Profound and Semrush carry it.

Ready to improve
your rankings?

Use our free tools to get instant insights into your SEO performance and discover opportunities to rank higher