Compared

Otterly vs Semrush

Otterly is a AI search monitoring; Semrush is a all-in-one SEO suite. This guide compares the two in depth, engine coverage, tracking mechanics, content production, SEO and local surfaces, data access and full pricing tiers, using only facts read from their live pages.

Facts verified August 2026Every claim rendered in a real browserSources on every table

01

The short answer

Otterly monitors AI search on four base engines with audits and recommendations: mentions, sentiment, citations, a crawlability checker and prompt research. Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. They compete only where the categories overlap, and the chapters below walk every dimension a buyer would price: which AI engines each can see, how the tracking actually meters, what each produces on the content side, what surrounds the core product, and the full published tier lists.

Choose Otterly when

  • Copilot coverage in the base plan
  • Gartner Cool Vendor for AI in Marketing 2025
  • Metered API and MCP from the $189 tier
  • ChatGPT Ads and Shopping tracking

Choose Semrush when

  • The largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits
  • Claude included in the published engine list
  • Technical site audit and research database
  • One vendor across SEO, ads, social and PR

02

What Otterly is

Otterly is an AI search monitoring tool with real credentials: a Gartner Cool Vendor for AI in Marketing in 2025, a 4.8 rating badge, and 30,000+ marketing professionals by its own count, with Roche, Opera and BenQ among the logos on its pricing page. The surface covers brand mentions, sentiment and citations tracked daily, a Brand Visibility Index, domain citation tracking updated weekly, AI prompt research, a crawlability checker, content audits with specific improvement recommendations, and ChatGPT Ads and Shopping tracking.

Pricing model. Lite $29, Standard $189 and Premium $489 a month with 15% off annually and four engines included on every tier; Claude costs $29 to $439 a month extra by tier, Gemini and Google AI Mode $9 to $149 each, and Enterprise starts from $1,000 a month.

Otterly planPriceWhat the page says
Lite$29/mo15 prompts, 4 engines, no API or MCP
Standard$189/mo100 prompts; API + MCP at 2,000 requests/mo each; Looker
Premium$489/mo400 prompts; API + MCP at 5,000 requests/mo
Enterprisefrom $1,000/mocustom prompt tracking, SSO, GEO health checks

Tier facts rendered from otterly.ai/pricing, August 2026.

otterly.ai/pricing
Otterly's pricing cards showing four included engines and add-on pricing for Claude, Gemini and AI Mode
Otterly’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

03

What Semrush is

Semrush, now an Adobe company, is the biggest suite in search marketing, with homepage scale stats of 28 billion keywords, 43 trillion backlinks, 808 million domain profiles, 142 geo databases and 289M+ LLM prompts. Nine toolkits share one login across SEO, traffic analytics, content, local, social, advertising and PR, and the AI visibility module tracks how often your brand appears in answers from ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, with sentiment and custom prompt monitoring from the entry SEO plan.

Pricing model. SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project.

Semrush planPriceWhat the page says
Free$01 demo project, 10 reports/day, no AI visibility features
SEO$139/moAI search performance, sentiment, custom prompts
Starter$199/mo50 prompts daily; MCP access
Pro+$299/mo100 prompts daily; 15 sites, 1,500 keywords
Advanced$549/mo200 prompts daily; API data integration; SEO share of voice

Tier facts rendered from semrush.com/pricing, August 2026.

semrush.com/pricing
Semrush's pricing page showing four paid tiers with AI prompt tracking metered by tier
Semrush’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

04

AI engine coverage

Otterly. Four engines are included on every tier, verbatim from the pricing cards: ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and MS Copilot. Claude, Google AI Mode and Gemini are sold as add-ons, with Claude at $29, $109 or $439 a month by tier and Gemini and AI Mode at $9, $59 or $149 each; Grok and DeepSeek appear on neither list.

Semrush. The features page publishes the engine list: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, making Semrush one of the few big suites with Claude included. Grok, DeepSeek and Google AI Mode do not appear in that list.

Summarized: Otterly reads 4 included (ChatGPT, AIO, Perplexity, Copilot); Claude, Gemini, AI Mode as add-ons; Semrush reads 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews. On Claude specifically, Otterly: add-on, $29 to $439/mo; Semrush: yes.

05

Tracking and measurement mechanics

Otterly. Prompt runs are daily on every tier, 15 prompts on Lite up to 400 on Premium, with extra prompts at $99 per 100 on the upper tiers. Domain Citation Tracking refreshes weekly per the features page, and sentiment classification tags mentions as enthusiastic, with caveats, or dismissed.

Semrush. AI prompt tracking meters by tier: 50 prompts daily on Starter, 100 on Pro+, 200 on Advanced, alongside classic position tracking with 500 to 5,000 keywords and 5 to 40 monitored websites. AI brand sentiment and AI visibility reports for any domain ship from the $139 SEO plan.

06

Content production

Otterly. The optimization surface is audit and advice: a content audit that produces specific improvements, a crawlability checker, prompt research and recommendations. There is no long-form writer and no CMS publishing anywhere on the public pages, so the output is a to-do list for your team.

Semrush. The content toolkit generates full-length, SEO-ready articles from a brief, with AI features woven through Domain Overview and Keyword Suggestions. CMS publishing targets are not enumerated on the pricing or features pages, so where the generated article lands is a question for their sales team.

07

SEO and local coverage

Otterly. There is no Google organic rank tracker and no local surface of any kind on the public pages; the product's scope is AI search.

Semrush. Classic SEO is the suite's backbone: position tracking, a technical site audit crawler, the 28B-keyword research database and the 43T-link backlink index. A local toolkit with listing management and map rank tracking exists; whether it draws a geo-grid or covers Apple Maps is not stated on the rendered pages.

08

Data access, APIs and integrations

Otterly. API and MCP access ship from the $189 Standard tier, metered at 2,000 requests a month each (5,000 on Premium), with a Google Looker Studio connector on the same tiers and CSV exports on every tier.

Semrush. MCP access lists from the $199 Starter tier and API data integration only on the $549 Advanced tier. White-labeling arrives through the Pro Report add-on at $20 a month, and the suite's own research database is the underlying asset most buyers pay for.

09

The full ledger

Every cell below was read from the vendors’ own rendered pages as of August 2026. Where a vendor’s public pages neither confirm nor deny a capability, the cell says so.

DimensionOtterlySemrush
AI engines4 included (ChatGPT, AIO, Perplexity, Copilot); Claude, Gemini, AI Mode as add-ons5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews
Claude coverageAdd-on, $29 to $439/moYes
Tracking cadenceDaily prompts; citation tracking weeklyDaily prompt allowances by tier (50 to 200)
Google rank trackingNoneYes (position tracking)
Local / map trackingNoneLocal toolkit; geo-grid not stated publicly
Content outputAudits and recommendationsSEO-ready article generation from a brief
CMS publishingNoNot enumerated publicly
API / MCPAPI and MCP from the $189 tier, meteredMCP from $199; API on the $549 tier
Entry price$29/mo$0 demo project; paid from $139/mo

Sources: otterly.ai, /pricing, /features; semrush.com/pricing and /features. Rendered in a browser, August 2026.

10

Frequently asked

What is the core difference between Otterly and Semrush?
Otterly monitors AI search on four base engines with audits and recommendations: mentions, sentiment, citations, a crawlability checker and prompt research. Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. One is a AI search monitoring, the other a all-in-one SEO suite; the right pick depends on which job is open on your team, and the chapters above compare each dimension from their live pages.
How does Otterly's pricing compare to Semrush's?
Otterly: Lite $29, Standard $189 and Premium $489 a month with 15% off annually and four engines included on every tier; Claude costs $29 to $439 a month extra by tier, Gemini and Google AI Mode $9 to $149 each, and Enterprise starts from $1,000 a month. Semrush: SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project. Both summaries come from each vendor's rendered pricing page as of August 2026.
Which AI engines does each cover?
Otterly: 4 included (ChatGPT, AIO, Perplexity, Copilot); Claude, Gemini, AI Mode as add-ons. Claude: Add-on, $29 to $439/mo. Semrush: 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews. Claude: Yes.
Who should pick Otterly?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: copilot coverage in the base plan; gartner Cool Vendor for AI in Marketing 2025; metered API and MCP from the $189 tier. Weigh those against its open questions: claude, Gemini and AI Mode are paid add-ons; grok and DeepSeek absent from all lists; no content writer and no CMS publishing.
Who should pick Semrush?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: the largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits; claude included in the published engine list; technical site audit and research database. Weigh those against its open questions: aI visibility is one metered module inside a big suite; grok and DeepSeek absent from the published list; white-labeling is a $20/mo add-on.
How does Rank.ai compare to Otterly and Semrush?
We keep those comparisons on their own pages, with the same verification standard: see rank.ai/vs/otterly and rank.ai/vs/semrush-ai-visibility.

How each compares to Rank.ai

We keep our own product out of this comparison. If you want the same verified treatment with Rank.ai in the frame, the one-on-one guides for Otterly and Semrush carry it.

Ready to improve
your rankings?

Use our free tools to get instant insights into your SEO performance and discover opportunities to rank higher