Compared
Whitespark vs Semrush
Whitespark is a local SEO tools (unbundled); Semrush is a all-in-one SEO suite. This guide compares the two in depth, engine coverage, tracking mechanics, content production, SEO and local surfaces, data access and full pricing tiers, using only facts read from their live pages.
In this guide
01
The short answer
Whitespark sells local SEO as separate tools: a Google and Bing rank tracker, ranking grids, the Citation Finder, Reputation Builder and a managed Listings Service, each with its own price. Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. They compete only where the categories overlap, and the chapters below walk every dimension a buyer would price: which AI engines each can see, how the tracking actually meters, what each produces on the content side, what surrounds the core product, and the full published tier lists.
Choose Whitespark when
- The deepest citation research tools in the industry
- One-time managed listings cleanup you own once done
- Review requests over email, SMS and kiosk across 100+ sites
- White-label share reports on a custom domain
Choose Semrush when
- The largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits
- Claude included in the published engine list
- Technical site audit and research database
- One vendor across SEO, ads, social and PR
02
What Whitespark is
Whitespark built its name on citations, and its pricing page is explicit about the model: the software and services are sold individually, with no forced bundling. The catalog spans the Local Rank Tracker (Local Packs, Maps and organic on Google and Bing), Local Ranking Grids up to 225 points, the Local Citation Finder, Reputation Builder, a $1-per-location Local Platform for GBP management, and services: a managed Listings Service sold as one-time packages, a Yext replacement service, and full SEO engagements.
Pricing model. Per tool: Local Platform $1 a month per location, ranking grids from $10, rank tracker $14 to $200, Citation Finder $33 to $149, Reputation Builder $79 per location; Listings Service one-time packages from $20 to $999 and SEO services $499 to $1,999 a month.
| Whitespark plan | Price | What the page says |
|---|---|---|
| Local Platform | $1/mo per location | GBP management, change digests, bulk reject |
| Local Ranking Grids | from $10/mo | up to 225 geographic points |
| Local Rank Tracker | $14 to $200/mo | Google + Bing, white-label share reports |
| Local Citation Finder | $33 to $149/mo | citation discovery and audit |
| Reputation Builder | $79/mo per location | reviews across 100+ sites |
| Listings Service | $20 to $999 one-time | managed cleanup and submission |
Tier facts rendered from whitespark.ca/pricing, August 2026.

03
What Semrush is
Semrush, now an Adobe company, is the biggest suite in search marketing, with homepage scale stats of 28 billion keywords, 43 trillion backlinks, 808 million domain profiles, 142 geo databases and 289M+ LLM prompts. Nine toolkits share one login across SEO, traffic analytics, content, local, social, advertising and PR, and the AI visibility module tracks how often your brand appears in answers from ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, with sentiment and custom prompt monitoring from the entry SEO plan.
Pricing model. SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project.
| Semrush plan | Price | What the page says |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 1 demo project, 10 reports/day, no AI visibility features |
| SEO | $139/mo | AI search performance, sentiment, custom prompts |
| Starter | $199/mo | 50 prompts daily; MCP access |
| Pro+ | $299/mo | 100 prompts daily; 15 sites, 1,500 keywords |
| Advanced | $549/mo | 200 prompts daily; API data integration; SEO share of voice |
Tier facts rendered from semrush.com/pricing, August 2026.

04
AI engine coverage
Whitespark. No AI answer engine appears anywhere on Whitespark's public surfaces: the rank tracker page covers Local Packs, Maps and organic results in Google and Bing on desktop and mobile, and neither the pricing page nor the tracker page mentions ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini or any other assistant.
Semrush. The features page publishes the engine list: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, making Semrush one of the few big suites with Claude included. Grok, DeepSeek and Google AI Mode do not appear in that list.
Summarized: Whitespark reads none on any surface; Semrush reads 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews. On Claude specifically, Whitespark: no; Semrush: yes.
05
Tracking and measurement mechanics
Whitespark. The Local Rank Tracker follows Google and Bing rankings with white-label reporting via unique share URLs, and agencies can serve reports from a custom domain such as rankings.yoursite.com. Local Ranking Grids run the map-grid measurement as a separate product from $10 a month, up to 225 points per scan.
Semrush. AI prompt tracking meters by tier: 50 prompts daily on Starter, 100 on Pro+, 200 on Advanced, alongside classic position tracking with 500 to 5,000 keywords and 5 to 40 monitored websites. AI brand sentiment and AI visibility reports for any domain ship from the $139 SEO plan.
06
Content production
Whitespark. There is no self-serve content product; writing appears only inside SEO Services engagements, which the pricing page lists at $499 to $1,999 a month, done by their team.
Semrush. The content toolkit generates full-length, SEO-ready articles from a brief, with AI features woven through Domain Overview and Keyword Suggestions. CMS publishing targets are not enumerated on the pricing or features pages, so where the generated article lands is a question for their sales team.
07
SEO and local coverage
Whitespark. Citations are the flagship: the Citation Finder discovers directories and audits NAP consistency, and the Listings Service has an in-house team doing one-time cleanup and submission from $20 to $999, with the citations owned once built. Reputation Builder monitors 100+ review sites and runs branded review requests over email, SMS and tablet or kiosk modes at $79 per month per location.
Semrush. Classic SEO is the suite's backbone: position tracking, a technical site audit crawler, the 28B-keyword research database and the 43T-link backlink index. A local toolkit with listing management and map rank tracking exists; whether it draws a geo-grid or covers Apple Maps is not stated on the rendered pages.
08
Data access, APIs and integrations
Whitespark. Neither the pricing page nor the rank tracker page mentions an API or an MCP server. Reporting depth comes through the white-label share URLs and custom domains on agency plans.
Semrush. MCP access lists from the $199 Starter tier and API data integration only on the $549 Advanced tier. White-labeling arrives through the Pro Report add-on at $20 a month, and the suite's own research database is the underlying asset most buyers pay for.
09
The full ledger
Every cell below was read from the vendors’ own rendered pages as of August 2026. Where a vendor’s public pages neither confirm nor deny a capability, the cell says so.
| Dimension | Whitespark | Semrush |
|---|---|---|
| AI engines | None on any surface | 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews |
| Claude coverage | No | Yes |
| Tracking cadence | Google and Bing tracking; grids to 225 points | Daily prompt allowances by tier (50 to 200) |
| Google rank tracking | Yes (Local Pack, Maps, organic; plus Bing) | Yes (position tracking) |
| Local / map tracking | Core: grids, citations, reputation, listings | Local toolkit; geo-grid not stated publicly |
| Content output | Only inside SEO Services engagements ($499 to $1,999/mo) | SEO-ready article generation from a brief |
| CMS publishing | No | Not enumerated publicly |
| API / MCP | No mention of API or MCP | MCP from $199; API on the $549 tier |
| Entry price | From $10 to $14/mo per tool | $0 demo project; paid from $139/mo |
Sources: whitespark.ca/pricing, /local-rank-tracker, /reputation-builder; semrush.com/pricing and /features. Rendered in a browser, August 2026.
10
Frequently asked
What is the core difference between Whitespark and Semrush?
How does Whitespark's pricing compare to Semrush's?
Which AI engines does each cover?
Who should pick Whitespark?
Who should pick Semrush?
How does Rank.ai compare to Whitespark and Semrush?
How each compares to Rank.ai
We keep our own product out of this comparison. If you want the same verified treatment with Rank.ai in the frame, the one-on-one guides for Whitespark and Semrush carry it.
