Compared

Semrush vs BrightEdge

Semrush is a all-in-one SEO suite; BrightEdge is a enterprise SEO + AEO suite. This guide compares the two in depth, engine coverage, tracking mechanics, content production, SEO and local surfaces, data access and full pricing tiers, using only facts read from their live pages.

Facts verified August 2026Every claim rendered in a real browserSources on every table

01

The short answer

Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. BrightEdge is an enterprise SEO and AEO suite: Data Cube X research, AI Hyper Cube demand intelligence over ChatGPT and Google AI Overviews, Autopilot optimizations and Amazon rankings. They compete only where the categories overlap, and the chapters below walk every dimension a buyer would price: which AI engines each can see, how the tracking actually meters, what each produces on the content side, what surrounds the core product, and the full published tier lists.

Choose Semrush when

  • The largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits
  • Claude included in the published engine list
  • Technical site audit and research database
  • One vendor across SEO, ads, social and PR

Choose BrightEdge when

  • Data Cube X: 4B+ data points, 10 years of history
  • Autopilot automates on-site optimizations
  • The only platform in this set with Amazon rankings
  • A customer success team as part of the product

02

What Semrush is

Semrush, now an Adobe company, is the biggest suite in search marketing, with homepage scale stats of 28 billion keywords, 43 trillion backlinks, 808 million domain profiles, 142 geo databases and 289M+ LLM prompts. Nine toolkits share one login across SEO, traffic analytics, content, local, social, advertising and PR, and the AI visibility module tracks how often your brand appears in answers from ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, with sentiment and custom prompt monitoring from the entry SEO plan.

Pricing model. SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project.

Semrush planPriceWhat the page says
Free$01 demo project, 10 reports/day, no AI visibility features
SEO$139/moAI search performance, sentiment, custom prompts
Starter$199/mo50 prompts daily; MCP access
Pro+$299/mo100 prompts daily; 15 sites, 1,500 keywords
Advanced$549/mo200 prompts daily; API data integration; SEO share of voice

Tier facts rendered from semrush.com/pricing, August 2026.

semrush.com/pricing
Semrush's pricing page showing four paid tiers with AI prompt tracking metered by tier
Semrush’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

03

What BrightEdge is

BrightEdge positions itself as the #1 AI-powered SEO and AEO platform for the enterprise, unifying both in one workflow with shared data, reporting, security and governance. Its anchors are Data Cube X, a proprietary research engine with over 4 billion data points and 10 years of history; AI Hyper Cube, which maps how people search across ChatGPT and Google AI Overviews with brand mentions, citations and sentiment; Copilot for insights and Autopilot for fully automated on-site optimizations; a WebDev audit product; Amazon rankings; and a local module for physical stores. A customer success team of search experts is part of the offering.

Pricing model. No dollar figure appears on their public pages; every call to action requests a demo and the price is set in the sales process.

BrightEdge planPriceWhat the page says
PlatformNo price publishedsold through demo and sales process

Tier facts rendered from brightedge.com, August 2026.

brightedge.com
BrightEdge's homepage positioning it as the #1 AI-powered SEO and AEO platform
BrightEdge’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

04

AI engine coverage

Semrush. The features page publishes the engine list: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, making Semrush one of the few big suites with Claude included. Grok, DeepSeek and Google AI Mode do not appear in that list.

BrightEdge. The homepage hero names Google, AI Overviews, ChatGPT and Perplexity, and the AI Hyper Cube description names ChatGPT and Google AI Overviews as the surfaces it analyzes for brand mentions, citations and sentiment. Claude, Gemini, Grok and DeepSeek appear nowhere on the rendered pages.

Summarized: Semrush reads 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews; BrightEdge reads chatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity named publicly. On Claude specifically, Semrush: yes; BrightEdge: not listed.

05

Tracking and measurement mechanics

Semrush. AI prompt tracking meters by tier: 50 prompts daily on Starter, 100 on Pro+, 200 on Advanced, alongside classic position tracking with 500 to 5,000 keywords and 5 to 40 monitored websites. AI brand sentiment and AI visibility reports for any domain ship from the $139 SEO plan.

BrightEdge. AI Hyper Cube reveals AI search demand and market intelligence: which brands are mentioned or cited across ChatGPT and AI Overviews, the sentiment around responses, and where visibility opportunities exist, alongside classic enterprise rank and share reporting from the SEO platform.

06

Content production

Semrush. The content toolkit generates full-length, SEO-ready articles from a brief, with AI features woven through Domain Overview and Keyword Suggestions. CMS publishing targets are not enumerated on the pricing or features pages, so where the generated article lands is a question for their sales team.

BrightEdge. Content tooling spans AI-accelerated creation, revision and optimization, with Autopilot going further than advice: it executes fully automated optimizations on your website. CMS publishing targets are not enumerated on the public pages.

07

SEO and local coverage

Semrush. Classic SEO is the suite's backbone: position tracking, a technical site audit crawler, the 28B-keyword research database and the 43T-link backlink index. A local toolkit with listing management and map rank tracking exists; whether it draws a geo-grid or covers Apple Maps is not stated on the rendered pages.

BrightEdge. The SEO platform covers keyword research on Data Cube X, competitive analysis, site audits through WebDev, and uniquely in this comparison set, Amazon rankings. The local module streamlines workflows tied to physical stores and Google review management; no geo-grid appears on the rendered pages.

08

Data access, APIs and integrations

Semrush. MCP access lists from the $199 Starter tier and API data integration only on the $549 Advanced tier. White-labeling arrives through the Pro Report add-on at $20 a month, and the suite's own research database is the underlying asset most buyers pay for.

BrightEdge. Integrations and APIs are referenced at the platform level and not enumerated publicly. Reporting is built for enterprise workflows with executive-ready outputs, and evaluation runs through demo requests.

09

The full ledger

Every cell below was read from the vendors’ own rendered pages as of August 2026. Where a vendor’s public pages neither confirm nor deny a capability, the cell says so.

DimensionSemrushBrightEdge
AI engines5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI OverviewsChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity named publicly
Claude coverageYesNot listed
Tracking cadenceDaily prompt allowances by tier (50 to 200)Enterprise reporting cycles
Google rank trackingYes (position tracking)Yes
Local / map trackingLocal toolkit; geo-grid not stated publiclyLocal workflows for stores; no geo-grid listed
Content outputSEO-ready article generation from a briefAI content creation + Autopilot optimization
CMS publishingNot enumerated publiclyNot enumerated publicly
API / MCPMCP from $199; API on the $549 tierNot enumerated publicly
Entry price$0 demo project; paid from $139/moDemo call required

Sources: semrush.com/pricing and /features; brightedge.com and /products. Rendered in a browser, August 2026.

10

Frequently asked

What is the core difference between Semrush and BrightEdge?
Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. BrightEdge is an enterprise SEO and AEO suite: Data Cube X research, AI Hyper Cube demand intelligence over ChatGPT and Google AI Overviews, Autopilot optimizations and Amazon rankings. One is a all-in-one SEO suite, the other a enterprise SEO + AEO suite; the right pick depends on which job is open on your team, and the chapters above compare each dimension from their live pages.
How does Semrush's pricing compare to BrightEdge's?
Semrush: SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project. BrightEdge: No dollar figure appears on their public pages; every call to action requests a demo and the price is set in the sales process. Both summaries come from each vendor's rendered pricing page as of August 2026.
Which AI engines does each cover?
Semrush: 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews. Claude: Yes. BrightEdge: ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity named publicly. Claude: Not listed.
Who should pick Semrush?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: the largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits; claude included in the published engine list; technical site audit and research database. Weigh those against its open questions: aI visibility is one metered module inside a big suite; grok and DeepSeek absent from the published list; white-labeling is a $20/mo add-on.
Who should pick BrightEdge?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: data Cube X: 4B+ data points, 10 years of history; autopilot automates on-site optimizations; the only platform in this set with Amazon rankings. Weigh those against its open questions: no published pricing; sales-led evaluation; claude, Gemini, Grok and DeepSeek not listed; built for enterprise procurement, not self-serve.
How does Rank.ai compare to Semrush and BrightEdge?
We keep those comparisons on their own pages, with the same verification standard: see rank.ai/vs/semrush-ai-visibility and rank.ai/vs/brightedge.

How each compares to Rank.ai

We keep our own product out of this comparison. If you want the same verified treatment with Rank.ai in the frame, the one-on-one guides for Semrush and BrightEdge carry it.

Ready to improve
your rankings?

Use our free tools to get instant insights into your SEO performance and discover opportunities to rank higher