Compared

Semrush vs AthenaHQ

Semrush is a all-in-one SEO suite; AthenaHQ is a answer engine optimization. This guide compares the two in depth, engine coverage, tracking mechanics, content production, SEO and local surfaces, data access and full pricing tiers, using only facts read from their live pages.

Facts verified August 2026Every claim rendered in a real browserSources on every table

01

The short answer

Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. AthenaHQ tracks brand visibility across up to nine AI models with prompt and response analysis, competitor insights, and content optimization agents, with a real free tier. They compete only where the categories overlap, and the chapters below walk every dimension a buyer would price: which AI engines each can see, how the tracking actually meters, what each produces on the content side, what surrounds the core product, and the full published tier lists.

Choose Semrush when

  • The largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits
  • Claude included in the published engine list
  • Technical site audit and research database
  • One vendor across SEO, ads, social and PR

Choose AthenaHQ when

  • Claude tracked from the free tier
  • Unlimited seats with role-based access on every plan
  • GA4 and Search Console correlation
  • 4.9 on G2 in Answer Engine Optimization

02

What Semrush is

Semrush, now an Adobe company, is the biggest suite in search marketing, with homepage scale stats of 28 billion keywords, 43 trillion backlinks, 808 million domain profiles, 142 geo databases and 289M+ LLM prompts. Nine toolkits share one login across SEO, traffic analytics, content, local, social, advertising and PR, and the AI visibility module tracks how often your brand appears in answers from ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, with sentiment and custom prompt monitoring from the entry SEO plan.

Pricing model. SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project.

Semrush planPriceWhat the page says
Free$01 demo project, 10 reports/day, no AI visibility features
SEO$139/moAI search performance, sentiment, custom prompts
Starter$199/mo50 prompts daily; MCP access
Pro+$299/mo100 prompts daily; 15 sites, 1,500 keywords
Advanced$549/mo200 prompts daily; API data integration; SEO share of voice

Tier facts rendered from semrush.com/pricing, August 2026.

semrush.com/pricing
Semrush's pricing page showing four paid tiers with AI prompt tracking metered by tier
Semrush’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

03

What AthenaHQ is

AthenaHQ is a San Francisco AEO platform with strong review credentials: a G2 High Performer for Answer Engine Optimization (Spring 2026) and 4.9-out-of-5 ratings on its badges. The product analyzes prompts and responses across up to nine AI models, estimates prompt volumes numerically, tracks unlimited competitors with sentiment, and acts through on-page and off-page GEO actions, a content optimization agent, smart robots.txt and llms.txt management, and an enterprise citation engine (ACE). Unlimited seats with role-based access come on every plan, and it publishes its own comparison pages against Profound, Peec, Scrunch, Semrush and Ahrefs.

Pricing model. Essential is free with a $25 credit (300 credits, five models including Claude); Starter is $295 a month with a $300 monthly credit (3,600 credits, nine models), with API access and extra credits as paid add-ons; Enterprise is custom with annual 17% off available.

AthenaHQ planPriceWhat the page says
EssentialFree300 credits, 5 models incl. Claude, unlimited members
Starter$295/mo3,600 credits, 9 models; API and extra credits are paid add-ons
EnterpriseCustomKnowledge Base, ACE citation engine, SSO, BI dashboards

Tier facts rendered from athenahq.ai/pricing, August 2026.

athenahq.ai/pricing
AthenaHQ's pricing page showing a free tier, $295 Starter and custom Enterprise
AthenaHQ’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

04

AI engine coverage

Semrush. The features page publishes the engine list: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, making Semrush one of the few big suites with Claude included. Grok, DeepSeek and Google AI Mode do not appear in that list.

AthenaHQ. The free Essential tier covers ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Gemini and Claude; Starter adds AI Mode, Copilot and Grok for visibility across nine models, with additional models available on request. Claude ships from the free tier, which is rare in this set; DeepSeek does not appear on the page.

Summarized: Semrush reads 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews; AthenaHQ reads 5 free; 9 on Starter (incl. Claude, Copilot, Grok, AI Mode). On Claude specifically, Semrush: yes; AthenaHQ: yes, from the free tier.

05

Tracking and measurement mechanics

Semrush. AI prompt tracking meters by tier: 50 prompts daily on Starter, 100 on Pro+, 200 on Advanced, alongside classic position tracking with 500 to 5,000 keywords and 5 to 40 monitored websites. AI brand sentiment and AI visibility reports for any domain ship from the $139 SEO plan.

AthenaHQ. Metering is credit-based with one credit equal to one AI response: 300 credits free, 3,600 on Starter, custom on Enterprise. Tracking includes unlimited topics, numerical prompt-volume estimation, unlimited competitor tracking and benchmarking, prompt variations with conversation context, and real-time brand sentiment.

06

Content production

Semrush. The content toolkit generates full-length, SEO-ready articles from a brief, with AI features woven through Domain Overview and Keyword Suggestions. CMS publishing targets are not enumerated on the pricing or features pages, so where the generated article lands is a question for their sales team.

AthenaHQ. Content recommendations ship on the free tier and a content optimization agent from Starter, with brand voice and guideline enforcement, on-page and off-page GEO actions, and Shopify and Webflow integrations. The enterprise Athena Citation Engine and Recommendation Engine extend the action layer; there is no long-form article pipeline described.

07

SEO and local coverage

Semrush. Classic SEO is the suite's backbone: position tracking, a technical site audit crawler, the 28B-keyword research database and the 43T-link backlink index. A local toolkit with listing management and map rank tracking exists; whether it draws a geo-grid or covers Apple Maps is not stated on the rendered pages.

AthenaHQ. There is no Google organic rank tracking and no local surface on the pricing page. GA4 and Google Search Console integrations connect AI visibility with site traffic, which correlates traffic with visibility; position measurement is a different job.

08

Data access, APIs and integrations

Semrush. MCP access lists from the $199 Starter tier and API data integration only on the $549 Advanced tier. White-labeling arrives through the Pro Report add-on at $20 a month, and the suite's own research database is the underlying asset most buyers pay for.

AthenaHQ. CSV export ships from Starter, GA4 and GSC integrate, and API access is an optional paid add-on billed on top of the Starter subscription, included only on Enterprise. Enterprise adds SAML and OIDC SSO, audit logs, multi-region and multi-language support, and executive dashboards with Tableau, Power BI and Looker support. No MCP server is listed.

09

The full ledger

Every cell below was read from the vendors’ own rendered pages as of August 2026. Where a vendor’s public pages neither confirm nor deny a capability, the cell says so.

DimensionSemrushAthenaHQ
AI engines5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews5 free; 9 on Starter (incl. Claude, Copilot, Grok, AI Mode)
Claude coverageYesYes, from the free tier
Tracking cadenceDaily prompt allowances by tier (50 to 200)Credit-metered: 1 credit = 1 AI response
Google rank trackingYes (position tracking)None
Local / map trackingLocal toolkit; geo-grid not stated publiclyNone
Content outputSEO-ready article generation from a briefRecommendations + optimization agent
CMS publishingNot enumerated publiclyShopify and Webflow integrations
API / MCPMCP from $199; API on the $549 tierAPI is a paid add-on on Starter; no MCP listed
Entry price$0 demo project; paid from $139/moFree tier; paid from $295/mo

Sources: semrush.com/pricing and /features; athenahq.ai/pricing. Rendered in a browser, August 2026.

10

Frequently asked

What is the core difference between Semrush and AthenaHQ?
Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. AthenaHQ tracks brand visibility across up to nine AI models with prompt and response analysis, competitor insights, and content optimization agents, with a real free tier. One is a all-in-one SEO suite, the other a answer engine optimization; the right pick depends on which job is open on your team, and the chapters above compare each dimension from their live pages.
How does Semrush's pricing compare to AthenaHQ's?
Semrush: SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project. AthenaHQ: Essential is free with a $25 credit (300 credits, five models including Claude); Starter is $295 a month with a $300 monthly credit (3,600 credits, nine models), with API access and extra credits as paid add-ons; Enterprise is custom with annual 17% off available. Both summaries come from each vendor's rendered pricing page as of August 2026.
Which AI engines does each cover?
Semrush: 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews. Claude: Yes. AthenaHQ: 5 free; 9 on Starter (incl. Claude, Copilot, Grok, AI Mode). Claude: Yes, from the free tier.
Who should pick Semrush?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: the largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits; claude included in the published engine list; technical site audit and research database. Weigh those against its open questions: aI visibility is one metered module inside a big suite; grok and DeepSeek absent from the published list; white-labeling is a $20/mo add-on.
Who should pick AthenaHQ?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: claude tracked from the free tier; unlimited seats with role-based access on every plan; gA4 and Search Console correlation. Weigh those against its open questions: the step from free to paid is $295; aPI access bills as an add-on on Starter; no Google, local or long-form publishing surface.
How does Rank.ai compare to Semrush and AthenaHQ?
We keep those comparisons on their own pages, with the same verification standard: see rank.ai/vs/semrush-ai-visibility and rank.ai/vs/athenahq.

How each compares to Rank.ai

We keep our own product out of this comparison. If you want the same verified treatment with Rank.ai in the frame, the one-on-one guides for Semrush and AthenaHQ carry it.

Ready to improve
your rankings?

Use our free tools to get instant insights into your SEO performance and discover opportunities to rank higher