Compared

LocalFalcon vs Semrush

LocalFalcon is a geo-grid rank tracker; Semrush is a all-in-one SEO suite. This guide compares the two in depth, engine coverage, tracking mechanics, content production, SEO and local surfaces, data access and full pricing tiers, using only facts read from their live pages.

Facts verified August 2026Every claim rendered in a real browserSources on every table

01

The short answer

LocalFalcon is the geo-grid incumbent: map-pack scans across real grid points on Google and Apple Maps, an eight-platform AI visibility lineup, and Falcon Agent for GBP automation. Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. They compete only where the categories overlap, and the chapters below walk every dimension a buyer would price: which AI engines each can see, how the tracking actually meters, what each produces on the content side, what surrounds the core product, and the full published tier lists.

Choose LocalFalcon when

  • Apple Maps geo-grids next to Google
  • Lead capture on the embeddable scan widget
  • Looker Studio and Zapier integrations
  • White label reports on the Premium tier

Choose Semrush when

  • The largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits
  • Claude included in the published engine list
  • Technical site audit and research database
  • One vendor across SEO, ads, social and PR

02

What LocalFalcon is

LocalFalcon popularized the geo-grid scan and remains the reference tool for it: pick a business, lay a grid of points across its service area, and record the map-pack rank at every point. The platform has since widened into AI search visibility across an eight-platform lineup, Falcon Guard monitoring of Google Business Profiles, and Falcon Agent, which replies to reviews and schedules GBP posts. Everything meters through credits, where one credit is one map pin on a scan.

Pricing model. Starter $24.99, Basic $49.99, Pro $99.99 and Premium $199.99 a month billed annually ($299.88 to $2,399.88 a year), with credit allotments from 90,000 to 778,000 a year; unused plan credits expire each billing cycle and pay-as-you-go credits are available in the portal.

LocalFalcon planPriceWhat the page says
Starter$24.99/moannual; 90,000 credits/yr, unlimited keywords and locations
Basic$49.99/mo183,000 credits/yr, 1.5% cheaper per credit
Pro$99.99/mo383,000 credits/yr
Premium$199.99/mo778,000 credits/yr; the only tier with white label reports

Tier facts rendered from localfalcon.com/pricing, August 2026.

localfalcon.com/pricing
LocalFalcon's pricing table with Starter to Premium tiers and annual credit allotments
LocalFalcon’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

03

What Semrush is

Semrush, now an Adobe company, is the biggest suite in search marketing, with homepage scale stats of 28 billion keywords, 43 trillion backlinks, 808 million domain profiles, 142 geo databases and 289M+ LLM prompts. Nine toolkits share one login across SEO, traffic analytics, content, local, social, advertising and PR, and the AI visibility module tracks how often your brand appears in answers from ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, with sentiment and custom prompt monitoring from the entry SEO plan.

Pricing model. SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project.

Semrush planPriceWhat the page says
Free$01 demo project, 10 reports/day, no AI visibility features
SEO$139/moAI search performance, sentiment, custom prompts
Starter$199/mo50 prompts daily; MCP access
Pro+$299/mo100 prompts daily; 15 sites, 1,500 keywords
Advanced$549/mo200 prompts daily; API data integration; SEO share of voice

Tier facts rendered from semrush.com/pricing, August 2026.

semrush.com/pricing
Semrush's pricing page showing four paid tiers with AI prompt tracking metered by tier
Semrush’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

04

AI engine coverage

LocalFalcon. The features page lists eight tracked AI platforms: ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Grok, AI Mode, Apple Intelligence, Copilot and Google AI Overviews. Claude is absent from that lineup; the Claude Connector in their integrations section pipes LocalFalcon data into Claude for querying, which is an integration, and answer tracking of Claude is not offered.

Semrush. The features page publishes the engine list: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, making Semrush one of the few big suites with Claude included. Grok, DeepSeek and Google AI Mode do not appear in that list.

Summarized: LocalFalcon reads 8 tracked: ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Grok, AI Mode, Apple Intelligence, Copilot, AI Overviews; Semrush reads 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews. On Claude specifically, LocalFalcon: no (their Claude Connector is an integration, not tracking); Semrush: yes.

05

Tracking and measurement mechanics

LocalFalcon. Scans run on demand or on schedules, metered in credits with one credit per grid point, across variable grid sizes and service-area business modes. Coverage spans Google Maps and Apple Maps side by side, with campaign, competitor, trend, keyword and location reports layered on top. The pricing footnote states that unused plan credit allotments expire at the end of each billing cycle.

Semrush. AI prompt tracking meters by tier: 50 prompts daily on Starter, 100 on Pro+, 200 on Advanced, alongside classic position tracking with 500 to 5,000 keywords and 5 to 40 monitored websites. AI brand sentiment and AI visibility reports for any domain ship from the $139 SEO plan.

06

Content production

LocalFalcon. Falcon Agent replies to new four and five star reviews and schedules Google Business Profile posts, and the platform runs content audits. Nothing on the features page writes long-form articles or publishes to a CMS.

Semrush. The content toolkit generates full-length, SEO-ready articles from a brief, with AI features woven through Domain Overview and Keyword Suggestions. CMS publishing targets are not enumerated on the pricing or features pages, so where the generated article lands is a question for their sales team.

07

SEO and local coverage

LocalFalcon. Local is the core: geo-grids on Google and Apple Maps, Falcon Guard monitoring GBP for unauthorized edits and performance shifts, and an embeddable scan widget that can capture lead contact info on your own site. White label reports are ticked only on the Premium tier at $199.99 a month.

Semrush. Classic SEO is the suite's backbone: position tracking, a technical site audit crawler, the 28B-keyword research database and the 43T-link backlink index. A local toolkit with listing management and map rank tracking exists; whether it draws a geo-grid or covers Apple Maps is not stated on the rendered pages.

08

Data access, APIs and integrations

LocalFalcon. Integrations include Looker Studio, Zapier, n8n, an MCP server and an API, plus public shareable report URLs for scans. The credit model prices everything in map pins, with per-credit discounts rising by tier.

Semrush. MCP access lists from the $199 Starter tier and API data integration only on the $549 Advanced tier. White-labeling arrives through the Pro Report add-on at $20 a month, and the suite's own research database is the underlying asset most buyers pay for.

09

The full ledger

Every cell below was read from the vendors’ own rendered pages as of August 2026. Where a vendor’s public pages neither confirm nor deny a capability, the cell says so.

DimensionLocalFalconSemrush
AI engines8 tracked: ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Grok, AI Mode, Apple Intelligence, Copilot, AI Overviews5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews
Claude coverageNo (their Claude Connector is an integration, not tracking)Yes
Tracking cadenceScheduled geo-grid scans, credits per pinDaily prompt allowances by tier (50 to 200)
Google rank trackingMaps-centric; geo-grid on Google and Apple MapsYes (position tracking)
Local / map trackingCore product, including Apple MapsLocal toolkit; geo-grid not stated publicly
Content outputFalcon Agent: review replies and GBP postsSEO-ready article generation from a brief
CMS publishingNoNot enumerated publicly
API / MCPLooker, Zapier, n8n, MCP, APIMCP from $199; API on the $549 tier
Entry price$24.99/mo (annual)$0 demo project; paid from $139/mo

Sources: localfalcon.com/features and /pricing; semrush.com/pricing and /features. Rendered in a browser, August 2026.

10

Frequently asked

What is the core difference between LocalFalcon and Semrush?
LocalFalcon is the geo-grid incumbent: map-pack scans across real grid points on Google and Apple Maps, an eight-platform AI visibility lineup, and Falcon Agent for GBP automation. Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. One is a geo-grid rank tracker, the other a all-in-one SEO suite; the right pick depends on which job is open on your team, and the chapters above compare each dimension from their live pages.
How does LocalFalcon's pricing compare to Semrush's?
LocalFalcon: Starter $24.99, Basic $49.99, Pro $99.99 and Premium $199.99 a month billed annually ($299.88 to $2,399.88 a year), with credit allotments from 90,000 to 778,000 a year; unused plan credits expire each billing cycle and pay-as-you-go credits are available in the portal. Semrush: SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project. Both summaries come from each vendor's rendered pricing page as of August 2026.
Which AI engines does each cover?
LocalFalcon: 8 tracked: ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Grok, AI Mode, Apple Intelligence, Copilot, AI Overviews. Claude: No (their Claude Connector is an integration, not tracking). Semrush: 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews. Claude: Yes.
Who should pick LocalFalcon?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: apple Maps geo-grids next to Google; lead capture on the embeddable scan widget; looker Studio and Zapier integrations. Weigh those against its open questions: claude is absent from the tracked lineup; no long-form content production; unused plan credits expire each cycle.
Who should pick Semrush?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: the largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits; claude included in the published engine list; technical site audit and research database. Weigh those against its open questions: aI visibility is one metered module inside a big suite; grok and DeepSeek absent from the published list; white-labeling is a $20/mo add-on.
How does Rank.ai compare to LocalFalcon and Semrush?
We keep those comparisons on their own pages, with the same verification standard: see rank.ai/vs/localfalcon and rank.ai/vs/semrush-ai-visibility.

How each compares to Rank.ai

We keep our own product out of this comparison. If you want the same verified treatment with Rank.ai in the frame, the one-on-one guides for LocalFalcon and Semrush carry it.

Ready to improve
your rankings?

Use our free tools to get instant insights into your SEO performance and discover opportunities to rank higher