Compared

BrightLocal vs Semrush

BrightLocal is a local SEO suite; Semrush is a all-in-one SEO suite. This guide compares the two in depth, engine coverage, tracking mechanics, content production, SEO and local surfaces, data access and full pricing tiers, using only facts read from their live pages.

Facts verified August 2026Every claim rendered in a real browserSources on every table

01

The short answer

BrightLocal runs the classic local stack: Google and Bing rank tracking, a geo-grid map, listings sync, citation building and review management, sold per location. Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. They compete only where the categories overlap, and the chapters below walk every dimension a buyer would price: which AI engines each can see, how the tracking actually meters, what each produces on the content side, what surrounds the core product, and the full published tier lists.

Choose BrightLocal when

  • Citation Builder submits listings you own outright from $2 per citation
  • Reviews monitored and answered across 80+ sites on the Grow tier
  • White-label reporting in the platform
  • Managed SEO service from $1,299 a month

Choose Semrush when

  • The largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits
  • Claude included in the published engine list
  • Technical site audit and research database
  • One vendor across SEO, ads, social and PR

02

What BrightLocal is

BrightLocal has spent years as one of the default local SEO suites, with 15,000+ platform customers by its own count and 4.6 to 4.8 review averages across the badges on its pricing page. The platform covers local rank tracking on Google Search, Google Maps and Bing, a Local Search Grid product with grids up to 15x15, Citation Tracker for NAP auditing, Reputation Manager for reviews, and Active Sync listings management. Around the software sit two services: Citation Builder, where an in-house team submits listings from $2 per citation, and a managed SEO service from $1,299 a month.

Pricing model. Per location: Track $31, Manage $40 and Grow $49 a month on annual billing at one location, scaling with a locations slider to 100+; Citation Builder from $2 per citation and a managed SEO service from $1,299 a month.

BrightLocal planPriceWhat the page says
Track$31/mo1 location, annual; geo-grid map capped at five keywords, 100 tracked keywords
Manage$40/moadds AI Insights, listings sync, GBP post scheduling
Grow$49/moadds reviews across 80+ sites with response and request campaigns
Citation Builderfrom $2/citationpay as you go, citations owned outright
Managed SEOfrom $1,299/modone-for-you service

Tier facts rendered from brightlocal.com/pricing, August 2026.

brightlocal.com/pricing
BrightLocal's pricing page with Track, Manage and Grow tiers priced per location
BrightLocal’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

03

What Semrush is

Semrush, now an Adobe company, is the biggest suite in search marketing, with homepage scale stats of 28 billion keywords, 43 trillion backlinks, 808 million domain profiles, 142 geo databases and 289M+ LLM prompts. Nine toolkits share one login across SEO, traffic analytics, content, local, social, advertising and PR, and the AI visibility module tracks how often your brand appears in answers from ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, with sentiment and custom prompt monitoring from the entry SEO plan.

Pricing model. SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project.

Semrush planPriceWhat the page says
Free$01 demo project, 10 reports/day, no AI visibility features
SEO$139/moAI search performance, sentiment, custom prompts
Starter$199/mo50 prompts daily; MCP access
Pro+$299/mo100 prompts daily; 15 sites, 1,500 keywords
Advanced$549/mo200 prompts daily; API data integration; SEO share of voice

Tier facts rendered from semrush.com/pricing, August 2026.

semrush.com/pricing
Semrush's pricing page showing four paid tiers with AI prompt tracking metered by tier
Semrush’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

04

AI engine coverage

BrightLocal. BrightLocal's rank tracking covers Google Search, Google Maps and Bing; no AI answer engine appears in any of its tracking surfaces. Its AI Insights feature, which starts on the $40 Manage tier, is a recommendations layer drawn from your local SEO data, a different thing from recording what ChatGPT or Claude answer. Apple Maps appears only in Active Sync listings distribution, never in rank tracking.

Semrush. The features page publishes the engine list: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and AI Overviews, making Semrush one of the few big suites with Claude included. Grok, DeepSeek and Google AI Mode do not appear in that list.

Summarized: BrightLocal reads none in rank tracking (AI Insights is a recommendations layer); Semrush reads 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews. On Claude specifically, BrightLocal: no; Semrush: yes.

05

Tracking and measurement mechanics

BrightLocal. The Local Rank Tracker monitors up to 100 keywords and four competitors on the Track tier, and the Local Search Grid scores map-pack position across grids from 3x3 to 15x15. The Track card caps the geo-grid map at five keywords, so grid depth at scale means climbing tiers. Everything is organized per location, which is also how the bill scales.

Semrush. AI prompt tracking meters by tier: 50 prompts daily on Starter, 100 on Pro+, 200 on Advanced, alongside classic position tracking with 500 to 5,000 keywords and 5 to 40 monitored websites. AI brand sentiment and AI visibility reports for any domain ship from the $139 SEO plan.

06

Content production

BrightLocal. Content features stop at scheduling Google Business Profile posts (Manage tier) and publishing customer reviews to your website (Grow tier). There is no long-form writer and no CMS publishing; the pages a local SEO program needs still come from your own writers.

Semrush. The content toolkit generates full-length, SEO-ready articles from a brief, with AI features woven through Domain Overview and Keyword Suggestions. CMS publishing targets are not enumerated on the pricing or features pages, so where the generated article lands is a question for their sales team.

07

SEO and local coverage

BrightLocal. This is the product's home turf: listings sync through Active Sync, citation discovery and duplicate detection through Citation Tracker, manual submission through Citation Builder at $2 to $3.20 per citation, GBP auditing of every profile signal, and review monitoring with response across 80+ sites plus request campaigns over email, SMS and in-store on the Grow tier. White-label reporting is included in the platform comparison chart.

Semrush. Classic SEO is the suite's backbone: position tracking, a technical site audit crawler, the 28B-keyword research database and the 43T-link backlink index. A local toolkit with listing management and map rank tracking exists; whether it draws a geo-grid or covers Apple Maps is not stated on the rendered pages.

08

Data access, APIs and integrations

BrightLocal. An API is sold as a separate API Solutions product at a custom price behind a contact form, and the platform page lists an MCP Server among its integrations. Reporting is white-label capable on paid plans.

Semrush. MCP access lists from the $199 Starter tier and API data integration only on the $549 Advanced tier. White-labeling arrives through the Pro Report add-on at $20 a month, and the suite's own research database is the underlying asset most buyers pay for.

09

The full ledger

Every cell below was read from the vendors’ own rendered pages as of August 2026. Where a vendor’s public pages neither confirm nor deny a capability, the cell says so.

DimensionBrightLocalSemrush
AI enginesNone in rank tracking (AI Insights is a recommendations layer)5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews
Claude coverageNoYes
Tracking cadencePer-location tracking on Google, Maps and BingDaily prompt allowances by tier (50 to 200)
Google rank trackingYes, with geo-grid to 15x15Yes (position tracking)
Local / map trackingCore product: grid, listings, citations, reviewsLocal toolkit; geo-grid not stated publicly
Content outputGBP posts and review publishing onlySEO-ready article generation from a brief
CMS publishingNoNot enumerated publicly
API / MCPAPI (custom price) and MCP serverMCP from $199; API on the $549 tier
Entry price$31/mo at one location (annual)$0 demo project; paid from $139/mo

Sources: brightlocal.com/pricing and /platform; semrush.com/pricing and /features. Rendered in a browser, August 2026.

10

Frequently asked

What is the core difference between BrightLocal and Semrush?
BrightLocal runs the classic local stack: Google and Bing rank tracking, a geo-grid map, listings sync, citation building and review management, sold per location. Semrush, an Adobe company, is a nine-toolkit suite spanning SEO, content, local, social and advertising, with an AI visibility module tracking five engines, metered by prompts per tier. One is a local SEO suite, the other a all-in-one SEO suite; the right pick depends on which job is open on your team, and the chapters above compare each dimension from their live pages.
How does BrightLocal's pricing compare to Semrush's?
BrightLocal: Per location: Track $31, Manage $40 and Grow $49 a month on annual billing at one location, scaling with a locations slider to 100+; Citation Builder from $2 per citation and a managed SEO service from $1,299 a month. Semrush: SEO $139, Starter $199, Pro+ $299 and Advanced $549 a month billed monthly, with annual billing saving up to 17% ($117.33 to $455.67); AI prompt tracking is metered at 50, 100 and 200 prompts daily by tier, and a free $0 plan offers one demo project. Both summaries come from each vendor's rendered pricing page as of August 2026.
Which AI engines does each cover?
BrightLocal: None in rank tracking (AI Insights is a recommendations layer). Claude: No. Semrush: 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, AI Overviews. Claude: Yes.
Who should pick BrightLocal?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: citation Builder submits listings you own outright from $2 per citation; reviews monitored and answered across 80+ sites on the Grow tier; white-label reporting in the platform. Weigh those against its open questions: no AI answer tracking on any surface; content stops at Google Business Profile posts; price scales per location.
Who should pick Semrush?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: the largest suite: 28B keywords, 43T backlinks, nine toolkits; claude included in the published engine list; technical site audit and research database. Weigh those against its open questions: aI visibility is one metered module inside a big suite; grok and DeepSeek absent from the published list; white-labeling is a $20/mo add-on.
How does Rank.ai compare to BrightLocal and Semrush?
We keep those comparisons on their own pages, with the same verification standard: see rank.ai/vs/brightlocal and rank.ai/vs/semrush-ai-visibility.

How each compares to Rank.ai

We keep our own product out of this comparison. If you want the same verified treatment with Rank.ai in the frame, the one-on-one guides for BrightLocal and Semrush carry it.

Ready to improve
your rankings?

Use our free tools to get instant insights into your SEO performance and discover opportunities to rank higher