Compared

BrightLocal vs Yext

BrightLocal is a local SEO suite; Yext is a digital presence platform. This guide compares the two in depth, engine coverage, tracking mechanics, content production, SEO and local surfaces, data access and full pricing tiers, using only facts read from their live pages.

Facts verified August 2026Every claim rendered in a real browserSources on every table

01

The short answer

BrightLocal runs the classic local stack: Google and Bing rank tracking, a geo-grid map, listings sync, citation building and review management, sold per location. Yext is the enterprise platform for managing business data: a Knowledge Graph as source of truth, Listings syndication, Reviews, Pages, and Scout as its listed AI search product. They compete only where the categories overlap, and the chapters below walk every dimension a buyer would price: which AI engines each can see, how the tracking actually meters, what each produces on the content side, what surrounds the core product, and the full published tier lists.

Choose BrightLocal when

  • Citation Builder submits listings you own outright from $2 per citation
  • Reviews monitored and answered across 80+ sites on the Grow tier
  • White-label reporting in the platform
  • Managed SEO service from $1,299 a month

Choose Yext when

  • Listings syndication for hundreds of locations
  • Knowledge Graph as a single source of truth
  • Industry solutions for finance, healthcare, retail
  • Reviews and social tooling in one platform

02

What BrightLocal is

BrightLocal has spent years as one of the default local SEO suites, with 15,000+ platform customers by its own count and 4.6 to 4.8 review averages across the badges on its pricing page. The platform covers local rank tracking on Google Search, Google Maps and Bing, a Local Search Grid product with grids up to 15x15, Citation Tracker for NAP auditing, Reputation Manager for reviews, and Active Sync listings management. Around the software sit two services: Citation Builder, where an in-house team submits listings from $2 per citation, and a managed SEO service from $1,299 a month.

Pricing model. Per location: Track $31, Manage $40 and Grow $49 a month on annual billing at one location, scaling with a locations slider to 100+; Citation Builder from $2 per citation and a managed SEO service from $1,299 a month.

BrightLocal planPriceWhat the page says
Track$31/mo1 location, annual; geo-grid map capped at five keywords, 100 tracked keywords
Manage$40/moadds AI Insights, listings sync, GBP post scheduling
Grow$49/moadds reviews across 80+ sites with response and request campaigns
Citation Builderfrom $2/citationpay as you go, citations owned outright
Managed SEOfrom $1,299/modone-for-you service

Tier facts rendered from brightlocal.com/pricing, August 2026.

brightlocal.com/pricing
BrightLocal's pricing page with Track, Manage and Grow tiers priced per location
BrightLocal’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

03

What Yext is

Yext built the category for managed business data at enterprise scale. Its platform navigation lists Scout, Listings, Knowledge Graph, Reviews, Social, Pages, Search, Hearsay Social, Hearsay Relate and Yext AI, with industry solutions for financial services, healthcare, retail, food and hospitality. The model: the Knowledge Graph holds the verified facts about every location, Listings syndicates them everywhere that matters, Pages hosts location landing pages, and Reviews and social tools manage the conversation around them.

Pricing model. Demo-led; yext.com/pricing returned a page-not-found when rendered, so no dollar figure is claimable from their public site.

Yext planPriceWhat the page says
PlatformNo price published/pricing 404s; every CTA is Get a Demo

Tier facts rendered from yext.com, August 2026.

yext.com
Yext's homepage showing its digital presence platform sold by demo
Yext’s live page. Rendered August 2026; the tier table above reads from this page.

04

AI engine coverage

BrightLocal. BrightLocal's rank tracking covers Google Search, Google Maps and Bing; no AI answer engine appears in any of its tracking surfaces. Its AI Insights feature, which starts on the $40 Manage tier, is a recommendations layer drawn from your local SEO data, a different thing from recording what ChatGPT or Claude answer. Apple Maps appears only in Active Sync listings distribution, never in rank tracking.

Yext. Scout appears in the platform navigation as Yext's AI search product; its engine list and tracking depth are not described on the rendered pages, so specifics need verification with their team. No named AI engines appear on the pages we rendered.

Summarized: BrightLocal reads none in rank tracking (AI Insights is a recommendations layer); Yext reads scout listed; scope not described publicly. On Claude specifically, BrightLocal: no; Yext: not stated.

05

Tracking and measurement mechanics

BrightLocal. The Local Rank Tracker monitors up to 100 keywords and four competitors on the Track tier, and the Local Search Grid scores map-pack position across grids from 3x3 to 15x15. The Track card caps the geo-grid map at five keywords, so grid depth at scale means climbing tiers. Everything is organized per location, which is also how the bill scales.

Yext. The platform's discipline is data consistency across the ecosystem: syndicating verified facts from the Knowledge Graph to directories, search engines and maps. Position measurement in the rank-tracking sense appears nowhere on the rendered public pages.

06

Content production

BrightLocal. Content features stop at scheduling Google Business Profile posts (Manage tier) and publishing customer reviews to your website (Grow tier). There is no long-form writer and no CMS publishing; the pages a local SEO program needs still come from your own writers.

Yext. Pages is the content surface: location landing pages generated and hosted from Knowledge Graph data at scale, common in multi-hundred-location deployments. There is no long-form article product on the rendered pages.

07

SEO and local coverage

BrightLocal. This is the product's home turf: listings sync through Active Sync, citation discovery and duplicate detection through Citation Tracker, manual submission through Citation Builder at $2 to $3.20 per citation, GBP auditing of every profile signal, and review monitoring with response across 80+ sites plus request campaigns over email, SMS and in-store on the Grow tier. White-label reporting is included in the platform comparison chart.

Yext. Listings syndication for large location counts is the core: one source of truth pushed everywhere, with Reviews for monitoring and response and industry-specific solutions layered on. This is distribution infrastructure more than measurement tooling.

08

Data access, APIs and integrations

BrightLocal. An API is sold as a separate API Solutions product at a custom price behind a contact form, and the platform page lists an MCP Server among its integrations. Reporting is white-label capable on paid plans.

Yext. Platform APIs are documented (Point and Click, SDK, APIs per their documentation section) and the Knowledge Graph is the structured-data asset underlying everything. Evaluation runs through enterprise demos.

09

The full ledger

Every cell below was read from the vendors’ own rendered pages as of August 2026. Where a vendor’s public pages neither confirm nor deny a capability, the cell says so.

DimensionBrightLocalYext
AI enginesNone in rank tracking (AI Insights is a recommendations layer)Scout listed; scope not described publicly
Claude coverageNoNot stated
Tracking cadencePer-location tracking on Google, Maps and BingData sync, not position measurement
Google rank trackingYes, with geo-grid to 15x15Not listed
Local / map trackingCore product: grid, listings, citations, reviewsListings distribution at enterprise scale
Content outputGBP posts and review publishing onlyPages product (location landing pages)
CMS publishingNoOwn Pages platform
API / MCPAPI (custom price) and MCP serverAPIs documented for the platform
Entry price$31/mo at one location (annual)Demo call; /pricing 404s

Sources: brightlocal.com/pricing and /platform; yext.com (pricing URL 404s). Rendered in a browser, August 2026.

10

Frequently asked

What is the core difference between BrightLocal and Yext?
BrightLocal runs the classic local stack: Google and Bing rank tracking, a geo-grid map, listings sync, citation building and review management, sold per location. Yext is the enterprise platform for managing business data: a Knowledge Graph as source of truth, Listings syndication, Reviews, Pages, and Scout as its listed AI search product. One is a local SEO suite, the other a digital presence platform; the right pick depends on which job is open on your team, and the chapters above compare each dimension from their live pages.
How does BrightLocal's pricing compare to Yext's?
BrightLocal: Per location: Track $31, Manage $40 and Grow $49 a month on annual billing at one location, scaling with a locations slider to 100+; Citation Builder from $2 per citation and a managed SEO service from $1,299 a month. Yext: Demo-led; yext.com/pricing returned a page-not-found when rendered, so no dollar figure is claimable from their public site. Both summaries come from each vendor's rendered pricing page as of August 2026.
Which AI engines does each cover?
BrightLocal: None in rank tracking (AI Insights is a recommendations layer). Claude: No. Yext: Scout listed; scope not described publicly. Claude: Not stated.
Who should pick BrightLocal?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: citation Builder submits listings you own outright from $2 per citation; reviews monitored and answered across 80+ sites on the Grow tier; white-label reporting in the platform. Weigh those against its open questions: no AI answer tracking on any surface; content stops at Google Business Profile posts; price scales per location.
Who should pick Yext?
Teams whose requirements match what it verifiably does best: listings syndication for hundreds of locations; knowledge Graph as a single source of truth; industry solutions for finance, healthcare, retail. Weigh those against its open questions: rank tracking appears nowhere on the public pages; aI answer tracking scope not described publicly; no published pricing.
How does Rank.ai compare to BrightLocal and Yext?
We keep those comparisons on their own pages, with the same verification standard: see rank.ai/vs/brightlocal and rank.ai/vs/yext.

How each compares to Rank.ai

We keep our own product out of this comparison. If you want the same verified treatment with Rank.ai in the frame, the one-on-one guides for BrightLocal and Yext carry it.

Ready to improve
your rankings?

Use our free tools to get instant insights into your SEO performance and discover opportunities to rank higher